Virtalis Reach Help

Manually Erasing Virtalis Reach Data

Introduction

Virtalis Reach does not provide a GUI mechanism to delete visualisations from the artifact store or models from the hub. This document is designed to help a systems administrator achieve that outcome.

This document assumes that you have already installed Virtalis Reach and your shell is in the directory containing the files that were downloaded during the installation, this is usually stored in the home directory, for example“/home/root/Reach/k8s”

Please note: The actions in this document directly modify the databases used by the Virtalis Reach services. No consideration is given to the current activity of the system and system wide transactions are not used.Before performing these actions prevent access to users of the system by temporarily disabling the ingress server.

Pre-installation

Before continuing with the next section, please refer to Virtalis Reach Automated Backup System and perform a full backup of the system.

Set Up the Deployment Shell

Substitute the variable values and export them:

Navigate to the directory containing Virtalis Reach installation files:

Installing the service

Turn On the Service


List arguments:


Output:


Temporarily Disabling the Ingress Service

Note down the replica count for nginx before scaling it down:

Scale down the nginx ingress service to prevent people from accessing Virtalis Reach during the deletion process:

Deleting a Visualisation Artifact

List Artifacts to Extract Artifact IDs


Sample output:


The above list will show each revision separately.

As you can see, there are 2 revisions of <inline-code>template_torusknot<inline-code> You can use the UUID to cross-reference which version this refers to so that you can make sure you are deleting the right revision.

In a web browser, navigate to the following URL, replacing <inline-code><UUID><inline-code> with the UUID of the artifact you want to check and replacing <inline-code><YOUR_DOMAIN><inline-code> with the domain of your Reach installation.

Once opened, you can click the “Show all versions” link to bring up a list of all versions along with the information about the current revision.

Erase an Artifact

Optional but recommended, use the -T switch to test the deletion procedure without affecting the database.


Sample output:

Remove the -T switch to delete the data.

Input:


Sample output:

Deleting VRModels

The process for deleting VRModels is the same as deleting visualisation artifacts except that the object type should be change from the default of artifact to vrmodel using the <inline-code>-t<inline-code> or <inline-code>--type<inline-code> parameter.


Sample output:


Turn Off the Service

Once done, scale down the service:


On Data Reuse Between Data Stores

Binary data items may be referenced by multiple artifacts. For example, when a model is reused in different projects or by revisions of a project. Only when deletion of an artifact will result in the related binary data items being unreferenced will they be deleted.

In the diagram below, the deletion of Visualisation A will no tresult in the deletion of the LOD Binary data because it is also referenced by Visualisation B. If A is first deleted then the LOD binary data will be referenced only by B, then when B is deleted the LOD Binary data also be deleted.

DiagramDescription automatically generated


Print page
2022.1
March 3, 2022 9:38

Need more?